C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIC Message "Service Engine Soon"

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 08:10 PM
Gilla81
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIC Message "Service Engine Soon"

My 2002 Z06 with 43k miles on it had the service engine soon message show up and blink a few times this past friday, then literally like 3 times on sunday, and it blinked like twice today. Any ideas what that could be from? Is it a major problem? It literally blinked a few times then goes away, and it doesn't show up everytime I start the car. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as I am not a mechanic. Thanks everybody for your help!
Old 04-07-2009, 08:19 PM
motogib1
Melting Slicks

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

1st thing is to read the codes. Turn the key to the on position without starting the car. Then press and hold the options button. With the options button held in, press the fuel 4 times in about 10 seconds. The codes will start coming up. You can use the options button to manually scroll through the codes or just let the scroll on their own. You can hit the reset button to clear codes and see if they come back. At any rate, record the codes and post them here and you will get some insight into what the problem may be.
Old 04-07-2009, 09:06 PM
dougbfresh
Le Mans Master

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts

If it flashed, it's probably and P03xx code (misfire), pull the codes and post them.
Old 04-08-2009, 01:19 AM
Bill Curlee
Tech Contributor

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,184 Likes on 1,586 Posts
CI 6,7,8,9,11 Vet
St. Jude Donor '08

Originally Posted by dougbfresh
If it flashed, it's probably and P03xx code (misfire), pull the codes and post them.

The 'Service Engine Soon & "Check Engine Soon" messages are NOT the same.

If you had a P-03XX DTC,,,it should have set a CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" DTC

BC