C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C1243 DC current measurements

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2008, 05:52 PM
sjbrothers
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default C1243 DC current measurements

I have a 98 with rear mounted EBCM/BMTV and just finished the exercise routine (thanks Bill Curlee) that has been referenced in earlier posts. Since mine was rear mounted I chose to use a battery charger as a 12 volt source and since I am a retired electrical engineer I added a DC current meter into the circuit to see what was really the condition voltage and current wise with a stuck motor and what happens afterward.
I used a fairly large wire to keep it from heating and used a spade lug to plug into pin 8.

I used the 10 amp setting on my VOM as it was the highest scale I had I also used the leads from the amp meter as a switch to apply the voltage to the motor.

Results: The initial meter reading was greater than 10 amps and the voltage from the battery charger dropped to under 10 volts. The motor ran but was indeed slow.
I continued to run it in short bursts and eventually the current came down to 5 amps and the voltage stayed at 12+ volts.
Here is a video of the final run. You can hear the motor run. It will take
55 seconds to down load with high speed.