C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

180 Thermostat and Closed Loop/Fan Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2009, 03:00 PM
darguy
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Default 180 Thermostat and Closed Loop/Fan Tuning

On my stock 99 FRC I've got the following Closed Loop Enable ECT vs IAT table:

Considering the ECT value is 92 F for all but sub-freezing IAT, that implies to me that putting in a 180 thermostat would have no effect on going into Closed Loop. And that changing the fan speeds would be the only thing to do with the tune. Am I missing something? (I'm a noob to tuning)

With the stock thermostat, I have already changed the fan speeds to:

Fan 1 On Temp: 209 F
Fan 1 Off Temp: 200 F
Fan 2 On Temp: 219 F
Fan 2 Off Temp: 210 F

Should they be changed further for the 180 thermostat?

I'm doing my first track day in a month and am looking at getting one of the Evans E3023 180 high-flow t-stats, and opening up the air-flow to the rad a bit...

Opinions?

Old 09-23-2009, 03:56 PM
Pumba
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 102 Likes on 56 Posts

Originally Posted by darguy
On my stock 99 FRC I've got the following Closed Loop Enable ECT vs IAT table:

Considering the ECT value is 92 F for all but sub-freezing IAT, that implies to me that putting in a 180 thermostat would have no effect on going into Closed Loop. And that changing the fan speeds would be the only thing to do with the tune. Am I missing something? (I'm a noob to tuning)

With the stock thermostat, I have already changed the fan speeds to:

Fan 1 On Temp: 209 F
Fan 1 Off Temp: 200 F
Fan 2 On Temp: 219 F
Fan 2 Off Temp: 210 F

Should they be changed further for the 180 thermostat?

I'm doing my first track day in a month and am looking at getting one of the Evans E3023 180 degree F high-flow t-stats, and opening up the air-flow to the rad a bit.

Opinions?