New owner. Long-winded introduction

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2021, 08:19 PM
CTJoe
Intermediate

Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
Default New owner. Long-winded introduction

Howdy all.

I just inherited a 2002 when my Dad passed a few months back. It's an Electron Blue coupe with 77K miles. It's an auto, so there's that. Many, many moons ago he would never have considered an automatic!

So, this is my first time owning a Vette. Dad had a few but he switched to German cars by the time I hit my early teens, so that's the bug that I got bit by. We currently have 8 some odd euro headaches. I love em but they're a needy bunch. Except for the Toureg, that one behaves.

Since the poor car has been sitting undriven for at least 5-7 years. He lived in southwest Utah and when I was out there 4 years ago, I took her for a quick spin around the block. Battery was dead and needed a long charge to start and when she did run, she was rough and the active handling message was in the DIC along with a few TPMS messages.

Fast forward to now, it's now home here in CT with me. The transport company said they barely got it started to get it on the truck and I have not been able to get it started since. My assumption is the gas has long gone bad. Very bad. That jives with it being rough 3 years ago when it had already been sitting for 2-3 years.

Here's what I've done...
- New battery -- Old one had 1.5V! Never seen one that low before
- New ignition switch -- Random clicking and gauge needle action when powered on. Figured it would fix the no start. No luck. I did also get the tumble portion of the switch and I popped it in temporarily just to see if it was the VAT sensor. I do also have the original key and a copy. Resistance is the same in both.
- Disconnected the speaker in the cluster -- Was buzzing obnoxiously

To be clear, it cranks but doesn't start. It has a couple of times almost started. The Security light on the dash is on, but I'm not sure what normal is for it.