[Z06] Z06 Or Base Vette For Track Day Car

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2015, 11:38 PM
mwestc5
Instructor

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Z06 Or Base Vette For Track Day Car

Was not sure where to post this:
I'm replacing my v8 Miata track car with a Vette. I'm done with a caged track only car. It's time for a car that can do double duty. Drive to the track, drive on the track & drive home. I was never a Vette guy. In addition to driving on the track I also instruct people on how to drive on a road race course. As an instructor I've been in at least 50 Vettes sitting in the right seat and limited time in the left seat. In addition to those I've shared the track with hundreds of Vettes over the years. Slowly but surely I became a Vette guy. Last year I got an 02 Conv. Love the car.

Here's my question. I've been looking at 03-04 Z06's. I'm looking to be around $20k. Pickens at that price point are pretty slim. But, if I expand my search to include base Vettes the availability grows tremendously.
Would it make sense to get a $12,000 to $15,0000 car and upgrade it for the track. Keep it simple, cam, suspension, brakes. I want to stay non-aspirated, no blowers. Keep it simple and street-able & below $20k.
Does any of this make sense.
Old 06-05-2015, 11:47 PM
bikeriderga
Melting Slicks

Received 196 Likes on 159 Posts

Originally Posted by mwestc5
I'm replacing my v8 Miata track car with a Vette. I'm done with a caged track only car. It's time for a car that can do double duty. Drive to the track, drive on the track & drive home. I was never a Vette guy. In addition to driving on the track I also instruct people on how to drive on a road race course. As an instructor I've been in at least 50 Vettes sitting in the right seat and limited time in the left seat. In addition to those I've shared the track with hundreds of Vettes over the years. Slowly but surely I became a Vette guy. Last year I got an 02 Conv. Love the car.