Sponsored by:

L5 Fender Questions!

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2014, 07:54 PM
MotoJB
Le Mans Master

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Default L5 Fender Questions!

Need help, I'm a total newbie to fiberglass bodywork.

For you guys that bought L5 fenders...did yours show up looking like this?

My body shop has concerns about the condition/quality of these fenders. He says what we received is suspect...and L5 claims he doesn't quite know what he's talking about.

I'm using a reputable shop in Fairfield - Auto Perfectionists. They supposedly have done quite a few wide body/booty vettes and have extensive fiberglass experience. http://www.autoperfectionists.com/corvette-repair/

Bodyshop says:

1) He says he can't understand how/why each fender seems to be comprised of "two pieces". He claims they don't come from a single mold, rather there are two pieces mated together. L5 says no, they are from a single mold.
2) He says there are spots that are extremely thin - "to the thickness of several sheets of paper"
3) Says there is is some cracking/blems on some spots and mounting holes that he's concerned about.
4) Pitting on finish
5) In general, he says they would need quite a bit of work to repair and fit (and in his professional opinion, may not hold up)

To L5's credit, they have agreed to take these back and are replacing with new fenders to ensure everyone is happy. I'm of course concerned about the replacement set...

Anyone have any input/feedback on their L5 fenders, and the pics of the ones we received?

Please and thank you.

Last edited by MotoJB; 06-05-2014 at 08:34 PM.
Old 06-05-2014, 08:08 PM
Evil-Twin
Team Owner

Received 3,812 Likes on 1,925 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03-'04

Originally Posted by MotoJB
Need help, I'm a total newbie to fiberglass bodywork.

For you guys that bought L5 fenders...did yours show up looking like this?