3D-Printed HUD Dimmer Knob...

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2013, 11:40 AM
DanSavage
Safety Car

Received 175 Likes on 77 Posts

Default 3D-Printed HUD Dimmer ****...

Howdy!

Like many here the **** for my HUD dimmer slider had gotten lost at some point in time.

I'd like to replace it, but this item has been discontinued.

I could go on a search to locate another one, but after some thought I decided maybe a better course of action would be to simply print a new one out.

I am a capable 3D CAD designer and have the software to do the job. I have an account with an online company called Shapeways.com who is able to print out parts using several different materials and technologies. Materials include everything from plastic to ceramic to brass, silver and even stainless steel.

Below are a couple of parts I've already had them print. The first is a holster for my cell phone and the second is a set of hub caps for the landing gear for an R/C model of an F-111 I was building.

So, this brings me to the HUD ****. I can measure the slider for the back of the HUD ****, but what I really need is to see what the back of the **** itself looks like.

It would also be nice to see what it looks like from the side view so I can get an idea of the basic size and shape. Measurements of the height, width and length would also be great.

Droid RAZR holster printed in laser-sintered nylon, dyed black (Strong & Flexible Plastic):

F-111 Main Landing Gear Hub cap printed in hard plastic (Frosted Detail Plastic):

TOP:

Bottom:

Printed, painted & installed:
Old 10-08-2013, 11:55 AM
dadaroo
Le Mans Master

Received 290 Likes on 226 Posts

Damn impressive hubcap. I must be way behind on the knowledge curve. I did not know that metals could be printed out. I will have to do some research. I don't have a spare **** but if not one else sends you one to duplicate I will just remove mine and send it to you to measure. At your service, Mr. Sam

PS: Love the hat too. It works for you.