Sponsored by:

98 convertible traction control

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2013, 11:28 PM
Pistol_PETE
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 convertible traction control

I have a 98 convertible with a pro charger,headers,bullet exhaust and runs on E-85. Tonight I was at a cruise night Mustang following me, he was getting on it a bit so I took off from a corner slow hit the gas at 15 or so car kicked hard left really fast( I have been driving this car for 8 years) let off the gas hit the brakes and counter steered but the car just went straight wiped out the nose cone and l f fender and the transformer. When I was stopped the steering wheel was cranked but the wheels were straight. Checked everything started the car and when the steering wheel was brought back to center the wheels turned with it. Drove the car home alignment is right. Steering wheel is straight If the traction control is turned off does this turn off the self centering steering and is there something that turns it off when you start the car. If the wheels had turned I wouldn't have gone over the curb. I don't want this to happen again. I assume it has some thing that stopped the wheels from turning.
Old 06-08-2013, 03:00 AM
Pistol_PETE
4th Gear

I guess what I wanted to know is there a product that automatically turns off the traction control when I start the car. I feel the traction control might have had something to do with the car not reacting the way I thought it would have when I was hitting the brakes. Maybe it was the abs?
Old 06-08-2013, 07:14 AM
Crosis
Drifting

Received 420 Likes on 281 Posts

Both ABS and traction control are designed for people that do not know how to handle a car. Those "features" are terrible for experienced performance drivers as they fight against you.

I dont know about the automatic turning off on start but just make a habit out of doing it manually. Also you do know about the COMPETITVE DRIVING mode right?
Old 06-08-2013, 08:35 AM
Phanni