Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

fuel rail/coil covers...my experiment

Old 03-16-2013, 10:43 PM
1lowc5
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fuel rail/coil covers...my experiment

This is my attempt/experiment at smoothing my fuel rail covers or coil covers.... what ever you want to call them.....I am by no means an expert...this is my amateur attempt at doing something myself and having the satisfaction of doing it myself....and of course this might not be everyone's cup of tea...if you have any experience or suggestions please let me know...

this is how they started..

this is the back side...you can see the void or emboss of the lines..

this shows a bit of sanding of the grooves on the backside

this is the cleaner/prep spray i used after sanding....i also used alcohol as a cleaner..

this is what i used to back fill the embossed lines/grooves...I got this stuff from my local body shop supply store..

this is how it looked after i mixed part A and part B.....did this a few times to fill the voids

Taping around the lines/grooves. I used a dremel style tool to remove the embossed lines/5.7. I used tape so that if I slipped with the dremel tool that I wouldnt mess up/ or dig into the surface of the cover. Tape help make a barrier/protection. I used a dremel style tool to remove as much as possible of the lines/5.7,...but not to go to far as to create unnecessary divits or deep spots

How it looked after I used the dremel style tool and then also used a D/A sander to help smooth it out....

just a comparison between the original and the one with no lines

this picture shows some more sanding and using the dremel to remove the paint from the corvette area. I used a little bit of bondo filler to help me see the areas that needed more sanding. I also beveled the edges of the Corvette logo to help with smoothness of the epoxy and sanding.