Sponsored by:

My 10K C5 Vette... Back From The Dead "PICS"

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2009, 09:18 PM
MarkyMarkGTM
Racer

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts
Default My 10K C5 Vette... Back From The Dead "PICS"

Hey everyone my name is Mark and I am a new Corvette owner. I originally bought the car for a GTM project that I have been saving up to build for a few years now. It wasn't the perfect time to buy a donor car but I felt like the deal was right so I went for it.

The car was totaled due to an interior fire. Some "really cool person" thought it would be a good idea to cut open the convertible top and shoot two road flares inside, one on each seat. Aren't people great? The previous owner of the car said he didn't know of anyone that would do that to him so it appears to be a random vandalism act and from the posts I have read about all the haters, it seems logical.

The car arrived and I got to work to cleaning. Since it ran and drove fine and my GTM build will not start for a few more years I figured why not drive a Vette in the meantime. I detailed in high school and am currently working as an autobody technician(23 yrs old now) so with that experience I was able to disassemble the interior (seats/dash/carpet/trim) and clean and replace what wasn't salvageable.

I ended up replaceing seats, carpet, glove box and armrest console, that's it. Everything else was just cleaned really well. It did suck ALOT... imagine discharging a fire extinguisher INSIDE your Vette, dust everywhere.

It turned out really well. The car has some light mods that were already done to it when I bought it. Go fast goodies include: Vortex cold air intake, ZO6 LS6 intake manifold, MTI racing stree/strip heads, MTI racing street/strip cam, Feria lighweight roller rockers, Kooks longtube headers, B&B exhaust, and a tune to take advantage of the added power. Over $12,000 in mods and right at 400rwhp according to previous owner.