my black Z looks like crap, need help

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2009, 12:41 AM
winters97gt
Le Mans Master

Received 77 Likes on 65 Posts

Default my black Z looks like crap, need help

Hey guys/gals.

Need a little help. I bought my black Z with 60k on it 6 months ago. I have never owned a black car. On most of my white, red, or pewter cars, wash them about 1 time a month. Other than that, they are garaged. So I just take a damp soft towel, and wipe them down.

Well, being dumb, I did it with the vette. Now, I have horrible swirl marks all over the car. All my hand tools are 300 miles away at the river house, and I have no experience buffing, polishing, removing marks from cars.

I tried a swirl mark remover by Mothers using only a towel. Didn't work at all. Basically, I think I have driven all the dust dirt into the paint by wiping it down all the time with a damp towel.

What should I do to remove this? Pay a professional? If so, What techniques should I require and what questions should I ask before they do it. Also, what should I expect to pay for a complete swirl removal job on the black vette?

Thanks

Mark
Old 04-02-2009, 01:05 AM
Alaskanpilot
Safety Car

Received 15 Likes on 4 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10

Mark,

This is opening up a door to a BIG world... caring for black cars is quite a challenge, but the results pay off big.

There are 1000's of ideas and techniques on how to best deal with black paint, and swirls on black paint. It can really bog you down, trying to digest it all.

It sounds like you have limited tools and experience, so here's what I would do. Your first move would be to make a choice: