Sponsored by:

Bad MAF or do i need a Tune?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2005, 03:36 PM
DarkForce
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad MAF or do i need a Tune?

I recently added the Corsa Tiger Shark front facia and a RKSport Ram Air hood. When I got it back form the body shop, within 50 miles of driving, I noticed what I thought was a clogged fuel filter, but my car only has 4k miles. Then the engine light came on and it kicked back a PO101 (MAF) error. I disconnected the battery for 15 minutes to reset, then drove some more. PO101 went away, but now Im getting PO171 and PO174 Bank 1 and 2 Lean errors. I am not an expert in any way with cars, but from rreading other threads, I guess I am in need of another tuning. Currently I run a LS1 Edit Tuning from LGMotorsprts. I don't want to have to spend the time and money if I dont have to. Question to all you experts out there are:

1. Would these parts cause that much difference in airflow? By the way I am running with a Donaldson Blackwing airfilter assembly, but stock MAF with Screen removed. Never had a problem before the body mods. MAF was cleaned when the problem first happened (no dice)

2. Could the RAm air being causing turbulance? I havnt tried to ducktape off the inner nostrils to see if that makes a difference. I basically bought the hood for looks, not performance.

3. If the MAF is bad, how do I know?

4. Is re-tuning the answer?

Thanks all for your input. I am a new corvette owner and new to Corvette Forum. It is great to be here.

Bryan
Old 02-02-2005, 04:00 PM
DarkForce
Instructor

Default Why is my question being skipped over

Seems like my question might not be important to anyone other than me. I came to this site to look for help. Am I floowing the wrong process??? Could someone help? Thank you very much (again)
Old 02-02-2005, 04:05 PM
Bill Curlee
Tech Contributor

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,180 Likes on 1,583 Posts
CI 6,7,8,9,11 Vet
St. Jude Donor '08