C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone using Water/Methanol Injection on a boosted C5?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2003, 06:25 PM
Rob0451
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone using Water/Methanol Injection on a boosted C5?

I'm a newbie to the world of C5 performance and looking into buying a ATI D1 S/C'd C5 coupe. Its currently running 7lbs of boost but from my experience with GN's, Supra's and Rx7's i know a lot of guys can run significantly more boost safely with a good water/methanol injection kit. Is there one available for C5 applications? Is there anyone on the board using a universal kit? I know SMC and Aquamist both make kits, I think SMC makes a great product and would be my choice, but i think i've reat that the SMC kit is for denatured ethanol and can't handle methanol. Thanks for any and all info.

Oh and i would have searched, since i'm sure this topic has been touched on before if not beat to death, but i can't find the search button..... Just found the search button, but i'm gonna post this anyway since i already typed it all out
Old 11-03-2003, 07:37 PM
QuickSilver2002
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Anyone using Water/Methanol Injection on a boosted C5? (Rob0451)

It obviously works just like it does on those other cars. Some will tell you that it is not needed unless you are running really high boost, but I don't buy that line at all. The high static compression of the stock ls1 makes it a very good thing to have. Race gas is the other alternative, but is obviously much more expensive.