C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Supercharged guys, tell me your track racing techniques!

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2013, 10:45 AM
Native
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Supercharged guys, tell me your track racing techniques!

Since being supercharged, I've gone to the track a couple times and have had fairly marginal results. I'm consistently in the 11.4-11.6 @ 127 (2.0 60ft's). This is with mid 70* weather and 1400-1900 DA.

My power level is 619/514. I have nearly new tires and a new Mcleod Rxt clutch. I'm not that good at track racing and I'm certainly not used to racing Corvettes (especially supercharged ones).
I know I need a lot more seat time but I'm hoping to get a few pointers to maybe get that 11.0 or 10.99's yet this year.

My largest problem is traction. I run 315 35 18 Toyo Proxes TQ drag radials. I'm not that good at burnouts so I don't think I heat them up as much as I need to. I basically drop the clutch and try to spin them as long as I can. (I don't have a line lock).

So 1st, I need to know your technique for a burnout. Also, what psi are your tires at?

The other problem I have is spinning down the track. It doesn't matter if I roll off the line or drop it from 3k rpm's, I spin most of first and the first bit of 2nd gear.
2nd, are you feathering first a little until you have traction?

What are pointers do you 600+ supercharged guys have for me?

Appreciate any insight.
Old 07-26-2013, 11:34 AM
robert miller
Team Owner

Received 1,762 Likes on 1,529 Posts

Originally Posted by sworaz
Since being supercharged, I've gone to the track a couple times and have had fairly marginal results. I'm consistently in the 11.4-11.6 @ 127 (2.0 60ft's). This is with mid 70* weather and 1400-1900 DA.