C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Just installed new clutch master & slave cylinders...

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2003, 07:56 PM
A
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just installed new clutch master & slave cylinders...

When I removed the slave, I was expecting a whole bunch of fluid to pour from the line, but instead I got a slight drizzle. Is this normal? :confused:

I still need to bleed the system. I have the Haynes manual which gives the procedure, but does anyone out there maybe have any tips on this? It doesn't seem really complicated, but I've never done it before.
Old 07-26-2003, 08:40 PM
REW89
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Just installed new clutch master & slave cylinders... (A)

Try this site.
http://www.zfdoc.com/clutch_hydraulic.htm

Bob
Old 07-26-2003, 10:01 PM
Rich B.
Melting Slicks

It took me about 25 - 30 separate "bleeds" to get my pedal nice and hard and high. It was hard and low in the first two or three "bleeds", but there was a tiny bubble of air somewhere in the system that stuck and wouldn't come out.

I finally got it. I've read about guys here not getting their pedal "high" even though the system felt nice and hard, so they left it that way and drove it, or cut and welded their actuating rods. That is :bs

If it's not hard and high, keep bleeding it. Gravity bleed, pressure bleed, wife bleed - whatever or as many ways as it takes.

It'll get hard and high eventually.

...My $.02... :rolleyes:
Old 07-27-2003, 01:19 AM
speedracer1996
Racer