C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Installing Gaskets, Looking for tips on how to prep them, or should I not.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2003, 10:27 PM
js0308
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing Gaskets, Looking for tips on how to prep them, or should I not.

Im getting ready to tear off the plenum to do some vacuum line replacement and change the EGR valve. I am fairly new to dealing with gaskets and would like some opinions. I normally have been giving my gaskets a light coat of RTV silicone before installing them. Is this necessary or does it matter much. Your experiences and ideas would be appreciated. Thanks, :chevy
Old 05-25-2003, 10:32 PM
CorvetteZ51Racer
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Re: Installing Gaskets, Looking for tips on how to prep them, or should I not. (js0308)

If you're referring to the runner-to-plenum gaskets on an L98, you do not want to use RTV. Just use the gaskets as they are. Make sure, however, to use a razor blade to clean the residue off of the gasket surfaces from the old gaskets.
Old 05-26-2003, 04:53 PM
Vic'89
Safety Car

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts

Default Re: Installing Gaskets, Looking for tips on how to prep them, or should I not. (CorvetteZ51Racer)

Cleaning the old gasket material and preping the surfaces are the keys to a good install. I have never used any RTV on the plenum to runner gaskets.

Vic

Old 05-26-2003, 05:14 PM
Tolofou
Pro

Default Re: Installing Gaskets, Looking for tips on how to prep them, or should I not. (Vic'89)

Id say take your time. send me the pics on how you do your install... I did mine last week and have huge intake leaks..

But I was lazy cause of my back and used the bottom old seals and one new top seal with RTV and the other was an old but fairly new with the GM plastic holders made for the pleneum.