C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Chip Identification - 1993 383

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2024, 01:07 PM
93vette383
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chip Identification - 1993 383

Hey everyone, long time lurker first time post here so let me know if this isn't in the right spot. Hoping ya'll can help me out with this:

Need help identifying the aftermarket chip/board in my '93 and was hoping to get some advice to see if the new chip I have will work.
Current Chip:

This is my first time messing with this kind of ECM/PCM and don't want to mess it up. I've gleaned enough knowledge from the internet to know that the '93 needed to have the chip pulled and burned to tune it, but I don't want to do that if this is something like a MOATES chip.
I don't need to do any real 'tuning' right now, but wanted to pull the current file off the chip and turn off things like egr and skipshift before burning to a new chip - planning on keeping the old chip on hand as a reference and backup.

New chip:

A little backround on the car: 1993 c4 - modified by Guldstrand at some point early in its life and has been an autocross car since - the 383 and (I'm assuming) the chip/tuning were both done by Guldstrand. As far as I know I am the fourth owner but no-one has touched much of the car other than refreshes/maintenance.

Any help is appreciated!
Old 04-06-2024, 01:52 PM
93vette383
5th Gear

More info:
I able to pull the 'chip'
Its actually a piggyback board with 2 chips - no clue how this works.

Old 04-06-2024, 02:21 PM
ULTM8Z
Burning Brakes

Received 147 Likes on 101 Posts

The SST chip basically overrides the chip in the Memcal.

If you want to change some things, simply download the current bin and save it in a secure location so you can always go back to it.

Old 04-06-2024, 03:58 PM
93vette383
5th Gear

Originally Posted by ULTM8Z
The SST chip basically overrides the chip in the Memcal.