C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

c4 rattle

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2021, 08:42 PM
kaller21
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default c4 rattle

Hello I am new to this and have some mechanical knowledge, but currently I am trying to gain more so take it easy on me please lol. So I have a 1985 corvette that I just bought. When I go to accelerate hard it makes a rattle sound around the driver side front tire. It seems to mostly do it when the car is warmed up, but sometimes I'll start it up and get on the gas hard but nothing rattles the whole drive so its kind of a hit or miss with it. Any suggestions as to what it could be? Ive thought that maybe something could be loose, but when it starts rattling it loses power/acceleration.
Any help greatly appreciated!!
Old 05-19-2021, 08:49 PM
Vette_DD
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,276 Likes on 935 Posts
St. Jude Donor '21-'22-'23-'24

Welcome to the forum. Wait for a moderator to move this thread to the C4 Tech section of the forum.
Old 05-19-2021, 09:09 PM
Vetteman Jack
Administrator

Support Corvetteforum!

Location: In a parallel universe. Currently own 2014 Stingray Coupe.
Received 19,378 Likes on 14,023 Posts
C7 of the Year - Modified Finalist 2021
MO Events Coordinator
St. Jude Co-Organizer
St. Jude Donor '03-'04-'05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-
'20-'21-'22-'23-'24
NCM Sinkhole Donor
CI 5, 8 & 11 Veteran

Moved to C4 Tech.
Old 05-19-2021, 09:49 PM
bjankuski
Safety Car

Received 467 Likes on 370 Posts

Most likely it is detonation, are you running super unleaded fuel? 1985 had a tendency to detonate and as they age this gets worse. The first thing i would do is make sure it is mechanically up to snuff, i other words a tune up. Also make sure the base timing is set to 6 degrees. After that see how it runs and report back.
Old 05-19-2021, 11:06 PM
kaller21
6th Gear

Originally Posted by bjankuski