C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Advice you'd give to the new C4 owner about speed

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2020, 04:29 PM
Ronn38
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 76 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Advice you'd give to the new C4 owner about speed

I finally got the c4 I'd coveted since I graduated college in '84--a Polo Green coupe (though mines a '93). And now I'd like to make it more like a Vette, and less like a Cadillac.
52K miles, Auto trans and a 2:59 rear end.

My take on performance starts with getting the most horsepower/torque a car makes to the rear wheel. SO I think the best "bang for the buck" here is a new 3.73 rear end, maybe a shift kit and/or torque converter. Its seems I should just enjoy this motor stock (or mostly stock) and when the Opti gives out again, or the seals, or whatever, I simply do an LS conversion--seems the most cost-effective ('cause the days of the $59.99 hooker heads are clearly long gone;-) )
So my questions are:
1. Thoughts on this approach?
2. Have someone install new ring and pinon in my dana36, or buy an assembled unit from one of our vendors?
I'm an OK wrench, but a rear end is beyond my capacity (could probably drop mine--but I've no lift in the garage, so...). Any advice on the best complete rear end units that don't break the bank?
3. shift kit or torque converter or both?