C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Help selecting cam

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2019, 12:42 PM
weedwhacker
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Help selecting cam

Hey guys need some help. I’m new to gm world so trying to find the right cam and associated parts is making my head hurt. Can someone tell me a good street cam and 1.6 rockers rods springs and lifters I should buy? Link me perhaps? Pulling the heads on my 1994 to have sent off to be cleaned and going to reseal the motor up. Going to get a timing set and possibly have the block sent off as well. Will never race the car just daily it
Old 09-30-2019, 08:48 PM
aklim
Team Owner

Received 2,259 Likes on 1,964 Posts

I'd pass on the cam. There are so many places to make improvements on the L98. Unfortunately, intakes and headers with a dyno tune won't be as sexy as a cam swap but will probably yield more than a stockish cam with a stock tune on a stock motor.
Old 09-30-2019, 08:52 PM
STL94LT1
Race Director

Received 81 Likes on 71 Posts

^^^ 1994 was an LT1 not L98. If you are only going to do a camshaft maybe look at the GMPP Hotcam.
Old 09-30-2019, 08:53 PM
Pwnage1337
Tech Contributor

Received 188 Likes on 141 Posts

**** a hot cam home boy, that **** is 30 year old technology.

Get on some new lobe design **** and make some power
The following 2 users liked this post by Pwnage1337:
BLKMAMBA (10-17-2019), ghoastrider1 (10-02-2019)
Old 09-30-2019, 08:55 PM
aklim
Team Owner

Originally Posted by STL94LT1
^^^ 1994 was an LT1 not L98. If you are only going to do a camshaft maybe look at the GMPP Hotcam.
My bad. Maybe a more aggressive cam that produces better results with a set of headers and a tune? Wouldn't you be limiting yourself with a Hotcam and a stock tune vs a more aggressive cam with a dyno tune to match? It would cost the same to install either way.
Old 09-30-2019, 08:59 PM
STL94LT1
Race Director