C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Any 11 second or faster manual trans cars?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2002, 12:12 AM
Ken Lanham
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Any 11 second or faster manual trans cars?

Hello,
I just joined the list, am doing some research and learning about C4 corvettes. I may be a corvette owner in the next few months. Im just trying to decide what I want, exactly.... I have a history of building some pretty hotrodded cars. I have lots of automotive knowledge, and some good mechanical skill. So I know that any corvette I end up with will probably not remain stock forever. I just have to learn the intricacies of the C4 cars, and narrow down my choices.

So does anyone have any feedback about my subject line question? I like manual transmission cars. I have rowed my 3600 lb. mustang into the low 11s (10s @ sea level easily.) Can any of the corvette manual transmissions take this kind of abuse? Say for example 500 ft-lbs torque, and 450-550 HP?

I know it sounds extreme. I just want to know the limits. I have been around GM slushboxes enough to know they can be built to take just about anything I would throw at them. But for a street/drag/road race car, I'd prefer a manual transmission. Am I asking too much? Opinions on both the Doug Nash and ZF boxes would be welcome.

Thanks in advance,
-Ken

:chevy :smash:
Old 09-06-2002, 12:16 AM
scorp508
Team Owner

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts

Lots of em. :yesnod:
Old 09-06-2002, 12:21 AM
vader86
Team Owner

Received 1,401 Likes on 1,017 Posts
C7 of the Year - Unmodified Finalist 2021
C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019

Default Re: Any 11 second or faster manual trans cars? (Ken Lanham)

ZF6 can handle pretty much anything you throw at it. And if it doesnt, the guys at ZFDoc can build one to take over 1000hp for you.
Old 09-06-2002, 12:26 AM
scorp508
Team Owner