C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

i am a newbie and i don't know what i wrong with my headlights

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2002, 10:14 PM
calebwitt
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i am a newbie and i don't know what i wrong with my headlights 1992

My headlights seem to work about half the time, the other half the right headlight doesn' always work. It will flip up but then it flips back over and gets stuck with the light face down rocking back and forth and the headlight motor is still running it is making a clinging noise. My left one does this same thing 10 percent of the time. I asked a mechanic in st. louis and he said i need to rebuild both headligh motors and he gave me a price of 900 for both including labor. I don't have 900 bucks and was wondering if someone knew something about them. i heard it may be as simple as a loose screw...?

[Modified by calebwitt, 2:31 AM 8/14/2002]
Old 08-13-2002, 10:19 PM
A
Melting Slicks

Default Re: i am a newbie and i don't know what i wrong with my headlights (calebwitt)

Well a good place to start diagnosing the problem is to ask what year is your car? :seeya

They changed the headlights in '88. 84-87 had the old style and 88-96 had the new style. My 87 has been converted to the new style, and if you also have the new style then it sounds like the little plastic bushings may have worn out. They're cheap, like $5 from Ecklers :)

[Modified by A, 8:44 PM 8/13/2002]
Old 08-13-2002, 10:32 PM
WhiskeyPapa
Advanced

Default Re: i am a newbie and i don't know what i wrong with my headlights (calebwitt)