C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

383 Install, When Is The Best Time To Connect Headers?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2014, 11:08 AM
corvette annette
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 383 Install, When Is The Best Time To Connect Headers?

I've never done this before, but I think I'll try it. The worst thing that can happen is I'll have to have the whole mess towed 1/4 mile down the road to my mechanic. TPIS is building me a "Stroker" for my 94 convertible. I ordered a "Cherry Picker" a "Happy Hooker" (Great monikers). I think I have enough tools. I've have the Haynes manual and read the threads. In a week or two, after the motor is put together, I'm going to take out my computer and the LTCC & LS2 coils I've installed. and send it up to Minnesota for Dyno-Day. I've already sent a ported Intake and all new sensors and a BBK 58mm throttle body.

At that point I'm going to take my reciprocating saw and cut off the old exhaust system, start taking pictures and labeling stuff and see if I can remove the old motor from the car. Maybe I'll plan it around a "girls weekend" and treat everybody to the nail salon after.

HERE IS MY QUESTION: In all my research for this project, I have not heard described the proper time to bolt up the headers in a motor install. 1) While it sits on the motor stand so it adds to the difficulty of maneuvering it into place when jacking it into the car? 2) After the motor is installed? 3) Somewhere in between --just hovering above the mounts, but loose enough so you don't get yourself into any jams?

My headers are Ceramic coated Long tubes 1 3/4 primaries from Exotic Muscle. They will be here in about 2 weeks. If the answer is #3 could someone describe the experience in some detail?
Old 06-06-2014, 12:43 PM
gman35
Burning Brakes

Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts

Default after

I would set the motor in place first... Gggg
Originally Posted by corvette annette