C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

New catback, now it cuts out in 1st and 2nd under WOT

Old 07-13-2002, 07:27 PM
FELNGR8
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default New catback, now it cuts out in 1st and 2nd under WOT

Newbie here, first big mod sounds cool but I have a bad stumble or miss under wide open throttle runs. It runs fine otherwise.

I need a muffler and wanted something unusual so I bought chambered exhaust from Sweet Thunder. It runs great under all conditions but full throttle runs from a stop. It stumbles in 1st and 2nd at various rpms from 4 grand to 5 grand. If I don't shift up it will even back off like it quit. If I go through the gears at 3/4 throttle it will go to redline in any gear. Full throttle in 3rd goes to redline with no problems, same for 4th.

I read a reply to someone with a new catback that you have to disconnect the battery to make it learn the new parameters. Is that all it takes, just pull the battey, then reconnect it and go? Is there anything more that needs to be done to set it up after reconnecting the battery?

These pipes sound like a 67 427 with side pipes so I really love them for cruising. But I can't get a full acceleration run to determine if I gained or lost power from the stock exhaust. The best run I got with my Gtech was 13.76, 107 while short shifting at 5500.

It's a stock LT1 with only a K&N filter with 76K miles now. I got a new optispark one year ago and it does not miss at high rpms in any other situation but a full on run from a stop.

Any ideas?
Old 07-13-2002, 07:46 PM
dizwiz24
Race Director

Received 559 Likes on 436 Posts

Default Re: New catback, now it cuts out in 1st and 2nd under WOT (94lt1torchred)