C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Best suspension setup for an '85?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2013, 02:55 PM
Tire Shredder
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best suspension setup for an '85?

So bought an '85 vette as a project car a few months ago and now that i'm finishing up engine and interior restoration I'm ready to do Suspension, brakes, and alighnment. Ive driven it around quite a bit and it is apparent that the front shocks/struts need to be replaced. the ride is SO stiff and i mean stiff. you feel every single little bump. the front are monroe gas matics that appear to be very old and worn out.

I'm interested in installing the shocks/struts etc. that would work best with this car handling wise. I am more interested in performance than overall ride comfort. what would my options be, from premium to the more budget stuff that still gives bang for buck. Im new to corvettes and not too experienced with suspensions either. thanks guys!

btw this car has made me fall in love with corvettes!
Old 07-25-2013, 03:11 PM
LongBeachC4
Racer

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Is it a Z51 car. My 85 is a Z51 and yes they are stiff even after replacing the Bilsteins.
If that's the case, then short of replacing the springs, you live with it or try KYB's. I hear there a bit more forgiving. You could do the coil over setup, Guldstrand seems to have the setup that works on the 85, smaller diameter front coils.
Old 07-25-2013, 05:48 PM
Tire Shredder
3rd Gear

I'm not really looking to do the suspension upgrade for a more comfortable ride, I want to improve the handling. I was thinking about coilovers but wasnt sure about brands/etc for a vette. I'm not sure if its a Z51. I got it from an old car lot and it had been sitting there for 12 years, the owner knew nothing about the car. but based on all my research im pretty sure it isn't. Ill definitely check out the options you mentioned. Thanks!