C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Code 34 on 89 L98

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2013, 06:03 PM
Mitchaul
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Code 34 on 89 L98

I have been driving my C4 with the Ses light on for a couple of months and the car was just fine, idle was good and great accelerations.

But one month ago it was wery hot outside and the engine was over 110° Celcius. When I pressed the gas padel, the engine did not react right away, it seemed as if there was a lack of petrol and after 2-3 seconds it would run fine. Whenever the outside t° is high I have the same symptoms. Any suggestions ?

I v'e already unplugged my MAF, cleaned it together with the trottle body, changed both relays and unplugged the battery but I still have the SES light with code 34 (Maf sensor). What's next step, change MAF ?

Thanks for your advice !

Last edited by Mitchaul; 08-23-2013 at 07:22 AM. Reason: SOLVED :)
Old 07-13-2013, 07:33 PM
MrWillys
Drifting

Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

http://www.chevythunder.com/maf_code_34.htm
Old 07-14-2013, 04:32 PM
Mitchaul
Heel & Toe

Thanks for the link Mr Willis ! I went to a meeting with the car today and when I drove back it was even worse. The car would start as usual but was shaking when I was accelerating and i had the feeling of power loss ! Is this related and getting worse or is it just someting else added ?

Thanks again in advance for your help !

Mitch'
Old 07-15-2013, 02:39 AM
Cliff Harris
Race Director

Received 341 Likes on 312 Posts

Try unplugging your MAF and running the car. You should get an error code 33 (MAF voltage high, which is correct because the ECM pulls the MAF output to 5 volts internally). If you still get a code 34 then the wiring is suspect (probably a short to ground on the MAF signal wire).
Old 07-15-2013, 10:01 AM
Mitchaul
Heel & Toe