C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

blown head gasket on '87

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2013, 03:34 PM
tankman
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default blown head gasket on '87

Hello everyone.

I had been getting a low coolant light for several days,so I added a little coolant and went through the burping procedure that I learned here.I did not drive the car yesterday,but started it this morning and white smoke is pouring out of both tail pipes. I am assuming the head gasket is broken/blown. I am writing to seek advice from you guys especially those who have had this problem.My 'vette is nearing 110K in mileage,and I don't know whether I should consider replacing the gasket or finding another engine.I am a shadetree mechanic and am great at tearing things apart ,but when the time comes to put them back together,I am in deep,deep trouble.I don't relish the thought of trying to adjust valves,etc,plus I'm an old fart and like to look for the easy way out of problem areas.When you guys find the time,would you mind giving me your thoughts as to what you would do? I am in Columbia,South Carolina in case any of you guys/girls are in this area.

Thank you

tankman
Old 07-01-2013, 03:46 PM
leesvet
Safety Car

Received 20 Likes on 14 Posts

doing an eng swap is just as much work as doing the gaskets...

Its #7 btw.

As common as the sun rise.

Pull the heads, get 'em checked, buy good quality gaskets and reassemble.
Go BUY a FSM set BEFORE doing ANYTHING and do some reading. Gain confidence. Do not set time limits....do what assembly YOU are comfoprtable with and walk away for the day. It WILL get put back together as long as you do something each day...

Not a real big deal. I gotta do the same thing soon. Except I'm swapping heads and doing performance, but the same work and I'm disabled and stupid so I have a REAL disadvantage.
Not to worry, it can be done.
Good luck.
Old 07-01-2013, 03:50 PM