C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Any downside to owning a zr-1?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2002, 01:34 AM
xzvs
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any downside to owning a zr-1?

Was wondering if the zr-1's had any inherent probs --(engine changes every 20k miles etc) that one would need to worry about. Would like to move up to one, one day, and would like to know that I am going to the poorhouse with a reasonably dependable car. I am a master tech so , there isn't a whole lot I cant fix on any car myself. My buddy back home had several vettes including a zr and fell on hard times, he asked if I wanted to buy the zr, and I almost morgaged everything for that one--he got back on his feet tho and decided to keep it. If I get one it would need to be a daily driver as I dont believe in trailer queens.
Old 06-23-2002, 01:38 AM
Mr Mojo
Elite Torch Red Member
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Cental/South NJ Events Coordinator
CI 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12 Vet
CI-II Burnout & Drag Champ
St. Jude Donor '03-'04-'05-'06-'07

Default Re: Any downside to owning a zr-1? (xzvs)

I want one also, I think the hardest part would be getting parts. I haven't heard any horror stories yet.
Old 06-23-2002, 01:44 AM
bogus
Team Owner

Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

Default Re: Any downside to owning a zr-1? (Mr Mojo)

I agree... the engines are super reliable... except expensive if they break, and there are not a lot of trained techs to work on them...

Old 06-23-2002, 01:45 AM
AquaMetallic94LT1
Safety Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I think getting some parts and cost are the biggest problems. Go to some of the discount parts dealers and look up ZR1 parts to get an idea of what you might have to spend on parts.

Old 06-23-2002, 02:00 AM
vader86
Team Owner

Received 1,409 Likes on 1,021 Posts
C7 of the Year - Unmodified Finalist 2021
C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019