C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1988 Tuned Port Injection Problem

Old 09-10-2007, 04:05 PM
tonytmorgan
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 Tuned Port Injection Problem

I recently bought a 1988 Corvette from a friend. It has been sitting for 3 years. It ran very rough. After new plugs the car ran very good. Then it sat for about 3 hours and when I started it, it ran rough again. It was flooded and ran very rich. I pulled the fuel pump fuse, started again and it ran smooth as it used up the residual fuel in the system. Then I put the F.P. fuse back in and re-started. It ran good again. Idled smooth and revved well throughout the range. Seems when the car is off fuel leaks through some injectors and floods the cylinders. Any thoughts??? I guess you can tell I have no experience with fuel injection. When I jump A & B on Diagnostics plug it shows no stored codes.
Old 09-10-2007, 04:34 PM
jghmczo6
Racer

Sounds like you have injector issues, ohm the injectors and check the reading. Also check / change the 02-sensor. Below is a search which explains how to check the injectors and the required reading for your car.

Hope this helps...............

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/sear...archid=6039217
Old 09-10-2007, 06:49 PM
RRT vette
Le Mans Master

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Old 09-10-2007, 11:37 PM
AGENT 86
Race Director

Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts

Buy or borrow a fuel pressure gauge and diagnose. It does sound like a leaky injector(s). http://members.shaw.ca/corvette86/Fu...mDiagnosis.pdf
Old 09-11-2007, 04:51 PM
tonytmorgan
Intermediate

Thanks for your help. The link you offered on ohming the injectors did not work for me. Can you check it? Perhaps I am doing something wrong. I tend to agree the problem is likely with the injector/s. Just not looking forward to replacing them.
Old 09-11-2007, 04:55 PM
tonytmorgan
Intermediate