C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

New to Corvettes

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2007, 11:59 AM
James in MD
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to Corvettes

Greetings! I'm new to Corvettes and this forum. I recently purchased a 1993 LT1 convertible. I've been reading some of the past posts and this seems to be a very active and supportive forum. The recent cold weather has uncovered a problem with my car that perhaps someone here can provide guidance on. The heat in my car is weak at best, the fan works and the air distrubution routines seem to working as well. The car shows teperatures right around mid-range on the gauge when completely warmed up, but no real heat. What comes out of the vents is lukewarm at best. I've had the thermostat replaced (180 degree), cooling system flushed and coolant replaced, with no improvement. Does anyone have any ideas as to what the problem might be?

TIA

James
Old 01-26-2007, 12:17 PM
Lichen
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Welcome. I have a '93 convertible also and had the same problem with mine. I had an extended warranty, took it to the shop and replaced what they called a "heater control valve". Whatever that is, it did the trick. Very hot air now.
Old 01-26-2007, 12:54 PM
runner140*
Le Mans Master

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 282 Likes on 256 Posts

James,
Fill out your public view(user cp) so we know who you are and what you drive.

The cold does uncover many problems and hides others.

Good luck and welcome aboard.
Old 01-26-2007, 02:19 PM
James in MD
Intermediate

Default New to Corvettes

Thanks for tip on updating my public view. The heater control valve checked out OK when the system was looked at.

James
Old 01-26-2007, 02:48 PM
65Z01
Team Owner

Received 300 Likes on 274 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Welcome to the Forum and congrats on your new '93 Vette...

Do you have electronic or manual HVAC control?