C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

[90] Mushy brake pedal...still

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2005, 06:29 PM
Dale1990
Le Mans Master

Received 41 Likes on 28 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15

Default [90] Mushy brake pedal...still

I am getting ready to drive this damn car off a cliff! The other brake thread has inspired me to try to try to fix this thing again.

I have been fighting a mushy brake pedal problem for a few months that started because of a panic stop. The problem is the pedal is very mushy. The car can stop and can even kick in the ABS at low speeds (<30mph). The brakes on this car were nice and firm once upon a time. They used to be like my Dad's 86 with J55s (installed b4 we got the car) - stop on a dime and give change. I have no quantitative data to back up the crappy performance - only the feel of the pedal. The pedal goes down really far to get any stopping action. It works - just not very confidently.

So far I have done the following:

Replaced M/C: Currently a rebuild from O'Reilly auto. I also had a new Delco and a rebuild from AutoZone. Bench bled a few times each. No change.

Bias Spring: I installed one at one point but it disappeared and probably was returned in a core. No change, anyway.

SS Braided Hoses: I was going to get OE but I got a good deal off the forum so I figured, what the heck. Bled all corners. No change.

Used ABS valve assy from a parted out 90-91 ZR1: Fixed a minor issue with poor fluid flow when bleeding. Pedal still mushy.

New pads all around: PFC Carbon Met. from AutoZone - crappy pads, only work when warm and suck when HOT or cold. I need a different brand. No change to pedal feel.

New (rebuilt) L+R Rear and right front calipers: I basically decided to start replacing things at this point, hoping for the best. Only have the front left OE at this time. No change.