C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Do Not Use Sae 10w-40 Oil.

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2005, 03:09 AM
CentralCoaster
Team Owner

Location: San Diego , CA Double Yellow DirtBags 1985..Z51..6-speed
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Do Not Use Sae 10w-40 Oil.

From my '85 GM manual:

Engine oil viscosity has an effect on fuel economy and... bla bla bla... higher temperature weather conditions require higher viscosity... Using oils of any viscosity other than those viscosities recommended could result in engine damage. When choosing an oil, consider the range of temperature... bla bla bla... SAE 10W-30 Energy-Conserving engine oil is the preferred viscosity grade. DO NOT USE SAE 10W-40 OIL.
What's the deal with that? It seems ludicrous that they'd be so insistent against it. FWIW, I've been using it for 8 years on all my cars.
Old 02-24-2005, 03:34 AM
bogus
Team Owner

Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts

modern engine tolerances are so tight, that it's possible that 10-40 might not make it....

I ran into some kid last year at the Sebring 12 Hours with a brandy-new Evo VIII. Bad-assed car. It was NEW - no miles yet. He could not wait to change the oil from the factory 0-30 fill to 20-50. I told him that the internals are so tight that 20-50 more then likely would cause oil starvation.

I am repeating that here... I suspect that if there had been an engine failure, and you were using 10-40, GM would void the warrantee.
Old 02-24-2005, 05:42 AM
93 ragtop
Le Mans Master

Received 96 Likes on 82 Posts

Some of the new fords and hondas require 5-20 oil. And Mobil's replacement syn. for the hondas is 0-20 which is supposed to be approved in the hondas.
IMHO where the damage would or could occur is during cold start up. If the oil is thin, it will get to the bearings quicker then a thick oil.
Old 02-24-2005, 08:20 AM
mikenfl
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts