C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

C4 85 stock tune upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2014, 04:25 AM
tunedport85inject
Drifting

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Default C4 85 stock tune upgrade

Hi guys,i have an 85 and i know this isn't the best ECM to work on.Looking at the stock tuning,with a stock car (minor modds) i was thinking if this tune has somewhere something to refinish to find some lost hp.I was thinking to the conservative/to much conservative AF/R at wot to avoid detonation.Monitoring my AFR with my Innovate wideband i see that my afr is 10.50 at wot.I think (but i'm a newbie) 10.50 is too much rich,even at wot.i know some guys here are in the 12.50 high 12's.Can i expect any improvement at wot with a afr in the 12.70s.There are some other place where i can put new numbers to raise some hp on a stock car or gain up a little throttle response,simply working on the tune?thanks guys

As for Pe tables you sure advice me to work on to lean out ,i have a 870 ECM and only this PE appears,i've opened some othe tables just in case:
[IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by tunedport85inject; 04-21-2014 at 07:26 AM.
Old 04-22-2014, 02:26 AM
Cliff Harris
Race Director

Received 341 Likes on 312 Posts

You almost can't go too rich at WOT. The engine gets real hot real fast and the rich mixture helps cool it.

Also, under heavy load at WOT is the worst time to get detonation, and a rich mixture helps to prevent it.

You will be at WOT for a relatively short time. If you're not racing and looking for ultimate power you're better off leaving it rich.
Old 04-22-2014, 08:49 AM
tunedport85inject
Drifting

Cliff can you tell me why my PE spark vs AFR in the pics is empty? may be i have the wrong XDF for my $1f eprom?as you can see my spark degrees row is zero
Old 04-22-2014, 09:19 AM
bjankuski
Safety Car

Received 465 Likes on 368 Posts

Originally Posted by Cliff Harris