C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

General C4 discussion

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2024, 06:02 PM
Jheath
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General C4 discussion

Hey everyone, Im new to corvette and have some general question to ask. Im planning on buying a corvette in a couple years and while id love a c5 im leaning towards a c4. The look of them has really grown on me and the generally lower price of 8 to 15k is more like what I can save up for. Im looking to get a 92-96 for the updated body style and lt1 engine. Id love to know if the opti spark problems are really as bad or as common as said by many for 1. Id also love to hear from those who have owned one for awhile what general maintenence costs are and what the c4 ownership experience is like. Lastly its my dream to race a corvette on a track and want to know if a c4 can be tracked safley or if id need to install better breaks, tires, suspension etc. Thank you very much to anyone that takes the time to respond!
Old 01-08-2024, 07:45 PM
slammin
Pro

Received 149 Likes on 118 Posts

Welcome to the forum! At this point, you need to read every thread that might interest you. I would recommend you buy:

C4 Corvette Buyers Guide: A Reference for the Purchase and Maintenance of the 4th Generation Corvette Paperback –by John Loughmiller

You can usually find it at most internet bookseller for under $20.00 It covers the engineering involved in the C4 development. Lists each year with stats covering production numbers, options, improvements of previous year and much more. Points out what to look for when shopping for your first C4. While you can find that information here on the forum, the book presents it in a very readable format.
Old 01-09-2024, 07:01 AM
rocco16
Race Director

Received 178 Likes on 130 Posts

Originally Posted by Jheath