C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Opinions needed on 1985 Corvette purchase

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2014, 06:11 PM
LazyEyeCrazyI
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinions needed on 1985 Corvette purchase

I'm looking to buy my first car and --you guessed it-- I've found a 1985 Corvette for sale. I've always wanted a muscle car, but would buying it be a good idea? I admit, I'm ignorant to fixing cars myself but I'd like to learn and I know someone who could help me a bit. As a college student, I'm pretty busy and tight on money as well most of the time so I'd like to know if I'd be screwing myself in buying a POS. It would be a daily driver, and my only vehicle.
Here are the specs from the seller:

"1985 Corvette with the 5.7 liter l98 tpi engine and a manual transmission.
Good - straight body, good wheels, great tires, drives great, low miles, fast, fun, clean title, clean interior, manual transmission, excellent seats, glass roof.
Bad- clear coat is peeling, rubber seals in door are going bad.
Overall it is a nice driver and gets plenty of attention. Even gets pretty good gas mileage for a v8.
Miles: 117,000
$3,600"

Any opinions would be great!

Regards,
ER
Old 09-03-2014, 06:41 PM
cigr
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I hate to say it, but I'd have to advise against buying it.

I love my 85, but to have it as my only car, and a daily driver, on a student's budget just seems like a recipe for disaster. You'd be better off putting that into something newer and more reliable for the moment, and getting a C4 in a few years when you can have it as a second car instead of something you have to rely upon.
Old 09-03-2014, 06:54 PM
Cruisinfanatic
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: Clifton Park, NY ..............Clearwater, FL ... 85 Original Owner
Received 553 Likes on 432 Posts

Originally Posted by cigr