Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

1055's smashed up, free 'vette hot/rat rod build

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2014, 10:55 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1055's smashed up, free 'vette hot/rat rod build

Hello! and welcome to my **** show. Little back story on me.. I've been a mopar and import nut my whole life (odd combo, I know). I've also been a huge fan and subscriber to the rat rod mentality. And I dont mean the shock rods that have been surfacing lately, I mean the old school thought process of.. 'oh **** its broken, Let's fix it with whatever is laying around, but take it one step further' The kind of thinking that gave us some of the coolest hot rods.

That brings us to here.. kind of. I was a mechanic for 7 years before I got sick of my whole life hurting on a daily basis and decided to pursue other career choices. I tinkered and built my fair share of ridiculous cars. Everything from First gen supercharged MR2's to swapped impreza outback sports and my latest creation was a 2000 legacy GT with a turbo swapped motor that I ended up supercharging - mad max style.

anyways, on to the Vette..

Rewind to 1999. My mother in law bought this here 1985 L98/700R4 targa top vette as her daily driver.
Fast forward to 10/2013. Whilst driving her vette, she got yammed by some dumb teen girl who had gotten her license three days prior. needless to say, the car was "totaled" I inform MIL that im interested in the car for the drivetrain.. At the time I had a miata shell begging for a v8 powertrain.
fast forward even more until a week ago. Insurance company finally settles with MIL, tells her to just keep the car. MIL calls me and says hey you still want it? I say yeah sure why not. I sold the miata shell three weeks ago, but I can do something with the car. Its in my nature to do so.