C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Should i replace my plugs? New owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2014, 08:33 PM
BlueMyMindC4
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should i replace my plugs? New owner

Just picked up my first vette, an 89 auto targa 97k miles. Seems to run ok not great not terrible. Just pulled one plug quick to see how old or bad they might be and they seem ok to me but im no mechanic. I could use some advice on whether or not i should bother replacing them or the wires from what you can see from the pics if that says anything. Thanks!

Old 05-29-2014, 08:55 PM
gerardvg
Melting Slicks

Received 188 Likes on 169 Posts

Hi
Spark plugs are cheap so replace them, the ignition leads are most important. Check them with a multimeter from one end to the other they should measure similar resistance. Replace the leads and check the throttle position sensor, there are 3 wires measure the top and middle wire and it should be set to 0.54 volts DC. Also check it goes up to around 4 volts dc with full throttle, you only need to turn the ignition on and no need to run the engine. Replacing the fuel filter is also a good idea.

Stay away from the methanol blend fuels, they can damage the standard injectors.

The EGR exhaust gas recirculation valve can jam, that can result in rough idle and stalling at idle.

A good service may be all she needs, plugs ignition leads and check the distributor cap and rotor is in good condition.

The TPI should start quickly and idle smoothly and give good milage.
Old 05-29-2014, 09:01 PM
solaris_vii
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by gerardvg
Hi