C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Fuel Pump - Mechanic Rip Off?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2014, 02:41 PM
zaydog3
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Pump - Mechanic Rip Off?

I had a mechanic install a Bosch 69218 fuel pump in my 1986 Coupe. I picke the car up and drove it around and stopped at several places. Everytime it started back up. I let it set in the garage for a week and when I went to start it up it would turn over but not start. I squirted some starter fluid into it and it started briefly. I had it towed back to the mechanic and he told me that they bench tested the pump and it ran ok but when they put it back in it was only pushing 4lbs of pressure and that it was defective. I asked how could it go bad when the car was just setting in the garage and he tried to tell me that it was because it was an electronic device and they could go bad at anytime (I am an electrical engineer and did not buy that at all). Of course he wanted to purchase a pump for me and charge me additional labor but I opted to take advantage of my warranty and get a new pump. I bought the pump from Rock-Auto and they said that of all the pumps they sold, they had only one come back defective and that they had sold quite a few. My question is - can a fuel pump go bad just sitting around? I am thinking that it was not installed properly and that something came loose. Anyone have any thoughts on this?
Old 04-22-2014, 02:46 PM
96GS#007
Tech Contributor

Received 1,739 Likes on 1,047 Posts

Sure, sh*t happens. Unusual yes, but it can occur. If it works fine with the new pump, I'd say that's pretty telling.

If it happens again, then you can dive in and start looking for other issues that might be killing the pump.
Old 04-22-2014, 02:58 PM
1bdvet
Team Owner

Received 4,504 Likes on 3,589 Posts
U.S. Air Force
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24
NCM Sinkhole Donor