question for owners of '84-'91 c4's

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 12:25 PM
jodester
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
St. Jude Donor '14
Default question for owners of '84-'91 c4's

I'm a newbie to the forum, but I have been looking for a vette for a while. I've always liked the c4 but have been warned by 2 different mechanics about the crossfire injection and the L98 motors as being "trouble" and to avoid them. I was Just curious as what current and past owners of these models' experience has been? Thanks
Old 04-14-2014, 12:45 PM
ToniJ1960
Burning Brakes

Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts

Well mines getting into shape pretty well,once I got the o rings in the injectors changed it idles the way a car should now
And its not hard to work on. As long as you realize its not the most powerful engine, but its still fun to drive. I love my 84, I just bought it last July and its getting better and better.

By the way, in the electronic servicing field we always heard, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing. Basically, some people learned a little and thought they knew what to do, but not enough to know what NOT to do.

When I had my car at Car-x, the so called mechanic there was telling me he loved the old 70s Corvette that had 32 injectors and you could shut half of them off. I said it sounds like like youre thinking about the zri and it didnt start until mid to late 80s. He qot real quiet.

My point is, these `mechanics` know enough to know an 84 is a Crossfire, but probably not enough to know theres nothing that bad about them in reality (other than just not being real powerful).

Last edited by ToniJ1960; 04-14-2014 at 12:51 PM.
Old 04-14-2014, 03:42 PM
CRUZN C4
Melting Slicks

Received 54 Likes on 35 Posts
2022 C4 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified

Nothing wrong with the L-83s and L-98s.
Old 04-14-2014, 04:45 PM
QCVette
Le Mans Master

Received 626 Likes on 488 Posts

Originally Posted by CRUZN C4