C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Buying a C4: Private Party Sale

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2013, 10:35 AM
94flavette
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Buying a C4: Private Party Sale

Finally found my 'other' C4. I'll post more once it's sitting in my driveway (so I don't jinx anything).

I'm not a pro on private party deals, so is there anything I should do during this process? I've already test drove and inspected it fully. It's a same-state transaction and a cash deal. There's no lein on the title and everything seems to be straightforward.

Advice?
Old 06-02-2013, 10:54 AM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 476 Likes on 423 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

How are you planning to pay for it? I would suggest working with your bank to do a wire transfer instead of hauling cash around. If you want to use cash, make the deal at the seller's bank.

Once you and the seller agree on a price, your bank and the seller's bank will handle the money transaction electronically. Talk to your bank or CU to find out how everything works. There may be a small transaction fee, but it is safe and typically the transaction takes no more than 30 minutes to an hour.

Make sure the seller has the Certificate of Title at the time you make the deal. He has to sign off on the title releasing his interest as the legal owner. You enter your information on the title as the new owner and then take it to your DMV office for transfer and any fees to pay.

Get a Bill of Sale from the seller that shows his name, address, VIN, your name and address, and the selling price. If you do this at a bank, get the Bill of Sale notorized. Should only cost a couple bucks. Make sure that you get the current vehicle registration too. The Bill of Sale, Title, and registration will be suitable proof of ownership if you should get stopped for whatever reason.
Old 06-02-2013, 12:53 PM
84wuzmy1st
Burning Brakes

Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts