Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Now that I have the parts, I need BIG help with installation!

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2013, 06:41 PM
vinniemc
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Now that I have the parts, I need BIG help with installation!

Sorry for all the threads! I ordered 13 inch rotors, calipers with brackets, and Hawk HPS pads to replace the 12 inch equipment on my 1992. Brake fluid is next, not sure what kind I should get for daily driving and autocross though. (DOT3 or 4, or Valvoline 3/4?)

I'm a novice and don't know how to install this stuff, but I do really want to learn. I know I need to bleed the brakes and put new fluid in, any tips on this would be greatly appreciated. I've read about the two person method a little bit but I want to make sure I don't get air in the lines.

This will sound dumb, but that's okay: Do I need the entire car on jackstands or can I jack it up one wheel at a time, and bleed each wheel one at a time, then go to the next wheel? Keep in mind I'm changing the front calipers and rotors only! Obviously when I have each front wheel up I'll be changing hardware, while on the rear I'll just be bleeding.

Are there any special tools I'll need? I have a torque wrench and socket set and basic tools.

If anyone has experience with swapping in J55 rotors and calipers please chime in. Sorry for not knowing much, we all started somewhere.

TIA
Old 04-03-2013, 07:09 PM
speedycat3
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I had just typed this in your other thread....

Here yu go.:

Vinnie, as far as the installation, it is pretty much removing your old ones and installing the new ones. everything fits in the same place.