C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

new vett owner opti spark msd

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2012, 12:37 PM
redvett22
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new vett owner opti spark msd

hey every one im new to the fourm as well as a first time vett owner. i just bought a 1994 corvette 6 speed and just wondered if anyone has any good or bad things to say about the msd opti spark. i bought my car with 80000 miles on it a month ago and had to have the dealer replace the opti spak then the water pump went out so i replaced it my self but i was thinking about upgrading to the msd as i got a h 36 mod 4 code when the water pump went out. so i think the opti went bad due to the water pump leaking. i love this car and they are a blast to drive im hooked on vetts. Thanks for any help
Old 05-05-2012, 02:16 PM
mfi
Le Mans Master

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

I hear good things about them now..I went with a Petris one.
Old 05-05-2012, 02:34 PM
94z07fx3
Race Director

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

FWIW "h" = historical "c" = current. any drivability issues with that code?

IMO MSD opti is a very nice looking part. I don't think they perform or last any longer than stock. Also IMO vacuum vent isn't worth the effort over open vent.

Regardless of brand secure the rotor screws with red loctite before install.
Old 05-05-2012, 04:16 PM
redvett22
Intermediate

94z07fx3 no to the drivability issues but every once and a while after a longer cruze some times it will not want to start it will just crank over. i was under good acceleration in second gear when the ses light came on but it didnt run abnormal. i got home and it had a c 12 code in mod 1 and the h 36 in the mod 4. let it sit for a while with the batt. unpluged and it started right up. Thanks on the input on the msd opti .
Old 05-05-2012, 04:48 PM
94z07fx3
Race Director

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts