Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Hello All - Newbie here..(kinda long)

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2011, 12:27 PM
Slow_Lane
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello All - Newbie here..(kinda long)

Hello all,

My name is Dave and I recently purchased my first Corvette and have been reading posts in this forum for awhile now so I decided to join.

Background:

As a child of the 80’s (I’m 41 now) I was familiar with and a fan of the 60’s muscle cars and a real fan of the “new” muscle cars from my high school era (namely 5 Liter Mustangs, F-bodies, and of course Corvette). Over time I have owned a number of these cars, along with many more modern cars with my favorite to date being an 88 Formula 350 and my most recent daily driver being an 04 Mustang. But I always loved the 84 Corvette for it’s combination of incredible handling/suspension, awesome looks, clamshell hood, and old school V8 power.

My first Corvette

So last year I decided that I must buy a C4 Corvette. Of course everyone here knows that prices have never been better. Unfortunately the economy has not been friendly to my industry and I have a daughter starting college so I had limited funds to work with. After kicking a lot of tires I became the proud owner of a 1989 Corvette.

Ok, so it wasn’t the 84 that I had wanted for nostalgic reasons that I’d be glad to elaborate on at some point in the future (yes I know all about CFI, I had an 82 Trans Am), I think the 89 was in fact the perfect year for me, kind of an 84 with a bunch of built in upgrades!

My car:
1989 Corvette Coupe
Metallic Grey
Light Grey leather seats, non “sport” seats
Automatic Transmission
3.07 axle ratio
FE4 “comfort ride” suspension
61,000 miles
Crappy aftermarket head unit (former Bose)
Purchase price $ 6900

My impressions so far: