C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

High Mileage on C4s ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2002, 01:55 AM
Gibberson
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Mileage on C4s ?

I'm gonna be buying a used C4 in the next few weeks. I've been looking through the trader/newspaper, and everything I see that a pretty descent price has very high milage.

I'm gonna use the car as a Daily driver, I won't be putting a lot of miles on it, but I'm concerned that most out there have over 100k on the clock.

What kind of mechanical issues show up after the 100k mark that I should be aware of ?

I'm either gonna get a C4 Vette or a '92+ Prelude. I like the power the vette has, and love the looks, but I honestly can't afford 14k for a C4 with low miles.

What should I look out for mechanically on a high miles vette? :seeya
Old 02-10-2002, 02:50 AM
scorp508
Team Owner

Received 41 Likes on 36 Posts

Well... I have 161k on the '87 right now. I bought it with 98k in '00.

Nothing super major so far.

Alternators
1 Rear Wheel Bearing
Distributor Gear
U-Joints
Headlight Motor

Mostly things you expect.
Old 02-10-2002, 02:53 AM
VetteNoob
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Re: High Mileage on C4s ? (Gibberson)

I just got my '86 last weekend and it was $8500. 78k miles. A few gremlins here and there, but all in all, I've been happy with it so far. Have a mechanic check it out. Something I should have done is pull the ECM 'check engine' codes to see what was still stored in the system just so I can 'guess' what I may expect from the car if they didnt fix it. Mine had previously tripped a 15 and 33 so I'm looking into those codes now. Im planning on using mine as a daily driver as soon as I get it where I feel comfortable driving it 45 minutes each way.
Old 02-10-2002, 09:13 AM
Alchemist
Race Director

NC Events Coordinator