Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

92 A/C Compressor - $900+.....HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2008, 01:20 PM
rangerphil
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default 92 A/C Compressor - $900+.....HELP!

I have a 92 with 14k original miles that is slinging A/C oil from the front compressor seal. Superior Chevrolet in KC is saying the only compressor they can get is from Carquest and it is $900+. Apparently, Chevy doesn't make the compressor any more and they are saying it is basically not rebuildable. I have asked them to do some calling and see if we can find a better option. Looks like about $1,375 out the door using R12 and the Carquest compressor. Does anyone have any ideas as to other options now that I have picked myself back up off the floor?? I was a mechanic for a couple of years in college, and in those days (70's), there were a number of shops that would rebuild the GM compressors. Surely there is still someone in the Kansas City area that might provide that service? In any case, $900+ is absolutely nuts for a compressor. OK, I'm done with my rant.........
Old 07-01-2008, 02:22 PM
jakers
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
St. Jude Donor '06

Originally Posted by rangerphil