Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

How many have driven their Vette in the snow or rain?

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2001, 02:45 PM
Cobra Jet
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How many have driven their Vette in the snow or rain?

I'm just wondering how the Vette handles in the rain or snow compared to a Mustang, or other sports cars.

Reason I am asking is, if I find the right Vette for me, it will replce my 96 Cobra and become my daily driver...

So, I'm well aware of the precautions while driving in the snow or rain with my Cobra - how does a Vette fair?

Are there any tips or tricks to driving in bad weather with a Vette? For instance, in the winter time, I drive with a full tank of gas and also with 75-100 lbs of kitty litter or rock salt in the trunk. The kitty litter or rock salt I purchase from the store and just put it in the trunk for extra weight over the rear wheels.

I'm a responsible driver so I know my limits in bad weather and do not "push" the car beyond those limits at that time.

Hopefully not too many of you will shudder at the thought of driving it all year round in those types of weather conditions, but hey, someone has to do it! LOL! :D
Old 12-20-2001, 02:54 PM
JoeVette88
Instructor

Default Re: How many have driven their Vette in the snow or rain? (Cobra Jet)

No shudder here!

I drove mine all last winter with no problems. Except when the snow was really deep and I started going sideways, I thought it was all over! I'm more worried about all those soccer moms in SUV's going full speed with snow on the roads.

How much does the kitty litter help in the back. It helps my buddies pick-up, does it help much in a vette?
Old 12-20-2001, 03:02 PM
Cobra Jet
Heel & Toe

Well, I don't know how it will help in a Vette - probably the same as in a Mustang though.