C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stripping, Painting, etc. 70 Vette

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2004, 05:22 PM
venms96
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stripping, Painting, etc. 70 Vette

I'm sure this has been discussed many times, but I am a newbie here, first post.....
Just wondering what your experiences have been in stripping off old paint and applying new ? What are the best ( or only ) products I should use in dealing with the stripping of paint, then applying new paint. Some say stay away from chemicals ? Some say it's ok, just be careful ? I'm a little confused and would like some type of basic method in doing this. I don't want to do it twice. I'll be doing the stripping, etc. myself. Someone else will be painting it. But need to know the proper things to do, not to do in the process. Is there a gelcoat on old Vettes ? Best/safest way to take off old paint ? What primer to use ? etc.
Thanks in advance for any helpful assistance.
Old 10-25-2004, 05:41 PM
Eddie 70
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 29 Likes on 19 Posts
Ci 6, 8 & 10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15

I used a razor blade when I stripped mine. Worked good for me. I will try to upload a few pics of the progression on my paint removal.
Old 10-25-2004, 05:46 PM
vettfixr
Le Mans Master

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts

You'll hear a lot of different opinions on this topic. I used the chemical method. To read about the details go to my website at

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/vettfixr/page9.htm

If you have a C3 or newer you don't have to worry about gelcoat because they are made with SMC (Sheet molded compound) panels. Good luck and welcome to the madness....er....I mean the forum.
Old 10-25-2004, 05:47 PM
jcswm
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Buy some MADE IN USA single edged razor blades & start scraping!!