C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Doing an LS swap - What do I need to know?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2024, 10:13 AM
rabinaba
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Doing an LS swap - What do I need to know?

Alright, so I have a 1981 4 speed that I’m doing a resto-mod on, which includes an LS swap. I’ve never done an engine swap before, and we’re going to try to tackle it ourselves, if we can. At least the install. Tuning and such we’ll send it out for.

I’ve sourced an LS1 out of a 2004 Pontiac GTO, mated to a T56. It seems to come with all the sensors, harnesses, and ECM from what I can tell. However, it doesn’t come with the exhaust manifold…which is fine because I planned on getting headers and doing a full exhaust anyway.

What else do I need to know here? I imagine I’ll have to do some massaging to the transmission tunnel, no? Can I expect the shifter to be in the same spot/height, or will that have to be modified? Obviously, I’ll have to get engine mounts, not sure if there’s any modification I’ll need there. In terms of electrical and fuel infection, I’m not sure what I’ll need to consider there. And then lastly, I’m unsure if the hood will need to be modified/if the LS will sit higher.

This is at least what I can think of at the moment, I’m sure more things will come up as we jump into it. But if you can think of anything that I’m missing here, I’d love the help!
Old 03-05-2024, 12:02 PM
78vette5.3
Pro

Received 108 Likes on 84 Posts