C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Muncie Rebuild Journal

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2023, 09:05 AM
nibze
Advanced

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Muncie Rebuild Journal

I have a 1970 with a 4 speed muncie that is slowly leaking from what looks like every possible place it can leak.

My plan is to rebuild it, but I've never done that before, so I figured I would get some practice first.

I've done a bunch of research, watched everything muncie related on youtube and bought the muncie rebuild book. I bought a used muncie about a year ago, disassembled it and am in the process of doing the rebuild now. If all goes well, I'll swap in the rebuild and then do it all again for the original.

I'm going to keep a log of my progress here. If I run into issues, hopefully someone can help out or maybe what I post will be helpful for someone else.
The following users liked this post:
Rescue Rogers (11-19-2023)
Old 11-15-2023, 09:08 AM
nibze
Advanced

Here is what I'll be rebuliding

mbp (11-15-2023)
Old 11-15-2023, 10:23 AM
Jud Chapin
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 417 Likes on 288 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-‘18-'19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24

I rebuilt mine many years ago with help from the co. I got some parts from. Actually was a piece of cake and I needed very little help.

I did take several what I considered questionable items to the parts supplier (local) and he helped me indicating which parts needed replacement and those that didn't that I thought did. In case you don't know, there is a special tool required for installing a particular part which I bought and later resold for basically a wash. I forget the part needing the tool but recall it involved a sleeve for the output shaft.

Today there is tons of info out there with all the internet videos you mention which weren't available when I did mine.