C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lift, Drag and Downforce...

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2002, 08:09 PM
rainman69
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Lift, Drag and Downforce...

I know there are other engineers on this board...time to ask for some help, as I'm a computer engineer and not an aeronautical engineer. What would I need in a wind tunnel to be able to accurately test a model of a C3? I'm looking at the Cd, lift generated and drag generated in order to minimize drag and lift (may require downforce).

Could someone with knowledge of these things point me in the right direction for a DIY tunnel (like this one: http://www.ceeo.tufts.edu/graphics/windtunnel/) and/or computer modeling software?

Thanks. :cool:
Old 12-31-2002, 12:37 AM
OldSlowVette
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Re: Lift, Drag and Downforce... (rainman69)

Check the archives. Try the restoration section. Ask Julia. This was an interesting topic several months ago.

I know there are other engineers on this board...time to ask for some help, as I'm a computer engineer and not an aeronautical engineer. What would I need in a wind tunnel to be able to accurately test a model of a C3? I'm looking at the Cd, lift generated and drag generated in order to minimize drag and lift (may require downforce).

Could someone with knowledge of these things point me in the right direction for a DIY tunnel (like this one: http://www.ceeo.tufts.edu/graphics/windtunnel/) and/or computer modeling software?

Thanks. :cool:
Old 12-31-2002, 02:48 AM
Rockn-Roll
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You might want to set up something similar to the wright brothers. Here's something I found on the net:

[url}http://wright.nasa.gov/airplane/shortw.html[/url]